Why are parents so shocked when they realise their precious child has discovered alcohol?
To most it wouldn’t come as much of a surprise, they have all had the been-there-done-that experiences.
But some parents are still deluded into thinking their little angels will never grow up.
Unfortunately for them, they do.
And it happens sooner than expected in most cases.
Teenagers as young as 14 sit there on a Saturday night with their friends, having a swig of bacardi breezer.
When you’re 14, its the coolest thing ever to have a bottle in hand in front of your friends.
When you’re 16, you can’t go to a party without a case of beer or bottle of spirits, it just becomes the “norm”.
You read about under age drinking, wild student parties, and “broken Britain”, but I am pretty sure it is not as bad as it seems.
I remember the first time me and my friend got drunk round mine while we were looking after the house.
Music up loud, dancing around the garden, not even thinking about the consequences.
I think I can safely say that dancing around on an empty stomach full of vodka and orange juice was not the best of ideas (I still can not stand the smell of cous-cous since that night).
I know parents that have gone out and brought alcohol for their 14-year-old son and not even battered an eye lid when he asked.
Some parents have come to terms with the fact that if they don’t buy it, their kid will only go pay somebody to buy it for them (AKA big brother/sister).
But when big brother/sister aren’t home, you’d be surprised at who would buy a teenager a case of beer for a few quids profit.
And then there are the parents who blame the older sibling for their drinking influence.
Universities are yet to shake the image of being a three-year party away from home.
In reality, it is three years, working part-time, attending lectures and having a drink at the end of the week to chase away the stress.
To me, I think it is a bad stereotype, these are the future doctors and teachers who are being called party animals when they are most likely busy studying.
I’m not saying there aren’t people who do spend the three years away drunk but there are some bright sparks that know their limit.
As for “broken Britain”, what country doesn’t have problems?
Just because a girl flashes her knickers on a night out while not being totally sober, Britain is seen to be broken and have drink, anti-social behaviour and drug problems.
Fair enough, in the main cities such as London and Manchester, but in Norfolk? I am very doubtful.
The truth is, teenagers are going to drink, no matter how much you try and prevent it,
they are young after all.
As my mum would say, “let them learn the hard way.”
No comments:
Post a Comment